I mentioned a day or two ago that I wanted to see Ngorongoro Crater.  Imagine my surprise when I opened my Travelzoo Top 20 weekly spam to see a vacation to Ngorongoro Crater!  Offered by ET African Journeys, the trip features:

  • Roundtrip flights on Ethiopian Airlines brand new Boeing 777 from Washington D.C. to Mt. Kilimanjaro, inclusive of airline fuel surcharge fee.
  • Spectacular Migration Season of animals moving south from Kenya to Northern Tanzania
  • All lodgings at superior first class/deluxe hotels, tented camp and lodges with excellent locations
  • One night at the East African All Suite Hotel centrally located in the town of Arusha
  • One night at Kirurumu Manyara Tented Camp located on an escarpment overlooking Lake Manyara
  • Two nights at Sopa Lodge with commanding panoramic views across the Serengeti.
  • Two nights at Sopa Lodge which clings on the rim of magnificent Ngorongoro Crater
  • Guaranteed window seat on 4×4 Safari Vehicle with pop-up roof
  • 6 Breakfast, 6 Lunch and 5 Dinner
  • Single rooms are available at an additional charge.
The cost of the nine day trip with airfare is $2,795 per person, leaving on November 5, 2011.  (There are other dates with slightly higher fares).   According to Travelzoo, the single supplement is only $250, which is a relatively good deal.  You would have to find your way to Dulles Airport, since Ethiopian Airlines does not go elsewhere in the United States.    The airfare from Dulles to Mt. Kilimanjaro runs about $1350 round trip on Ethiopian Airlines.
I’m not sure how I would construct a trip to Tanzania short of buying a package like this one.  According to the State Department, there are numerous safety concerns for Americans traveling in Tanzania.   I suspect that purchasing a group tour may well be one of the safer ways to travel, even if it lacks the adventure of a self-planned vacation.
Travel to Tanzania does require a VISA, and the country requires that passports be valid for six months after the date of entry.
This trip exceeds my vacation budget, so unless there is a windfall in my future, I will not be going.  However, it is the stuff that dreams are made of.
